VFW Scout of the Year Program

What is the Scout of the Year Program?

Annually, the Veterans of Foreign Wars of the United States recognizes individuals who are: Eagle Scouts, Girl Scout Gold Award recipients, Venture Summit Award recipients and/or Sea Scout Quartermasters who have risen above their peers in exemplifying the qualities of that rank.

Am I Eligible?

To be eligible for the award, the candidate must:

  • Be the recipient of the Eagle Scout Award, Girl Scout Gold Award, Venture Summit Award or Sea Scout Quartermaster Award.
  • Be a registered, active member of a Boy or Girl Scout Troop,
    Venturing Crew or Sea Scout Ship at the time the above reward was received.
  • Have demonstrated exemplary citizenship in school, Scouting and community.

Prior National Scout of the Year winners are ineligible. There is no minimum age requirement for applicants as long as all other eligibility criteria has been met. The maximum age requirement for applicants is 18 years old. If an applicant reaches their 18th birthday during the nomination year, they remain eligible as long as they are still in high school at the time of the submission deadline. A Scout may enter through only one VFW Post. A local Post can be identified by zip code at vfw.org/FindaPost.

What are the Deadlines?

  • Deadline for entry to VFW Post is March 1.
  • One candidate with full entry criteria must be submitted by a VFW Post to the next level of judging by April 1. The VFW Department Scouting chairman can provide this information.
  • The Department winner must be selected and submitted by their Department Scouting chairman to the VFW National Headquarters by May 1.



Skip to content